From the Permanent Secretary Dr Denis McMahon



Your Reference: JH/MOH Our Reference: SINV-0045-2024

Jim Hanna Democratic Services & Governance Manager Belfast City Council Legal and Civic Services Department City Hall Belfast BT1 5GS

Via email: <u>hannajim@belfastcity.gov.uk</u>

21 March 2023

Dear Mr Hanna

## LIVING WITH WATER (LWW)

Thank you for your invitation to attend a meeting of the Strategic Policy and Resources Committee to discuss the review of the Living With Water in Belfast Plan. As part of the Department's engagement with key stakeholders on the LWW review I understand my colleague Simon Richardson, Director of the Living with Water Programme, provided an update at the Committee's January Meeting.

Department officials are continuing to engage with stakeholders to gather views and comments which will inform the recommendations within the review report, and I understand Simon will be providing further presentations to a number of other Belfast City Council Committees. A major contributing factor to the review recommendations will be the outcome of the Utility Regulator's Mid-Term Review of NI Water's PC21 Business Plan. The publication of this has been delayed and is expected in June, so the LWW review will conclude after this.

At this stage there is no significant update that can be provided over and above the information provided in January. Any further comments, to be considered as part of the LWW review, can be provided through the Belfast City Council representative on the LWW Board, and would be greatly welcomed.

Since the presentation in January, Ministers have returned to the NI Executive and Mr John O'Dowd MLA has taken up the post of Minister for Infrastructure. The Minister will consider the recommendations within the LWW Review Report and decide on the most appropriate way forward.

Yours sincerely

as We Walan

DR DENIS McMAHON Dfl Permanent Secretary

Room 701 Clarence Court 10-18 Adelaide Street BELFAST BT2 8GB Telephone (028) 9054 1175 Email: perm.sec@infrastructure-ni.gov.uk cc: Declan McGeown Simon Richardson Stuart Wightman Marie-Louise Wise Anne-Marie Wylie